Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register

ACA on Facebook    Follow the ACA on Twitter  ACA on YouTube  ACA Daily Water Blog

Follow us on Pinterest   Connect on LinkedIn      



The Governance of the ACA

The ACA Board of Directors is the governing body of the association and meets three times each calendar year. The Board is comprised of people with a wide variety of skills and expertise, ranging from environmental scientists and legal experts to volunteers and paddlesports safety professionals. Each and every Board member shares a passion for outdoor recreation and involvement in the management of the ACA.

In addition, the Safety Education & Instruction Council, the National Competition Council, and several National Activity Committee's serve in advisory roles to the Board and can make policy recommendations for the Board to consider.

ACA members have general powers and authority to vote on, and conduct certain affairs of the association as described in the bylaws.

All ACA members are eligible to, and encouraged to attend the Annual Membership Meeting each fall.

  • ACA National Bylaws - revised 2012 (PDF)

Upcoming ACA Board of Directors Meetings:

  • October 24-25, 2015       - Charleston, SC
  • February 2016                - Fredericksburg, VA
  • June 2016                      - Electronic Teleconference
  • November 11-13, 2016    - San Francisco, CA 

The Executive Committee of the Board of Directors:

  • President - Anne Maleady (Massachusetts)
  • Vice President - vacant
  • Treasurer - Peter Sloan (Colorado)
  • Secretary - Robin Pope (North Carolina)
  • At-Large - Judge Charles Strauss (Virginia)
  • At-Large - Jerry Dunne (New York)

Board Members

  • Sam Fowlkes (North Carolina)
  • Roby Hackney (Virginia)
  • Bill Micks (Virginia)
  • Kirk Havens (Virginia)
  • Jim Virgin (Washington)
  • Andrew Tush (Virginia)
  • Steve Hutton (South Carolina)
  • Bill Banholzer (South Carolina)
  • Jim Ditzel (Maine)
  • Wayne Stacey - USCG liaison (Maryland)
  • Robert Cassar - Sugar Island liaison (Pennsylvania)

Contact the ACA Board of Directors (online)


*If you are interested in learning more about being nominated for the ACA Board of Directors, please contact the ACA Executive Director.

Member Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

What's New?
Event Calendar

2015 Suttons Bay Floatilla Guinness World Record Attempt

9/5/2015 » 9/6/2015
Canoe Sailing - Cruising National Championships

9/11/2015 » 9/13/2015
Paddle & Pour Festival

The Official Vehicle of the ACA

Privacy Policy | Report Abuse | Contact Us | FAQ | Donate

Making the World a Better Place to Paddle! Since 1880.

 © 2014 American Canoe Association. All rights reserved.