eStore   |   Donate   |   Join
The Governance of the ACA

The ACA Board of Directors is the governing body of the association and meets three times each calendar year in addition to monthly conference calls. The Board is comprised of people with a wide variety of skills and expertise, ranging from environmental scientists and legal experts to volunteers and paddlesports safety professionals. Each and every Board member shares a passion for outdoor recreation and involvement in the management of the ACA.


In addition, the Safety Education & Instruction Council, the Competition Council, the Property Management Committee, and several additional committee's serve in advisory roles to the Board and can make policy recommendations for the Board to consider.


ACA members have general powers and authority to vote on, and conduct certain affairs of the association as described in the bylaws.


All ACA members are eligible to, and encouraged to attend the Annual Membership Meeting each fall.


National Bylaws:

  • ACA National Bylaws - 2017 (PDF)

Upcoming ACA Board of Directors Meetings:

The Executive Committee of the Board of Directors:

  • President - Peter Sloan (North Carolina)
  • Vice President - Robin Pope (North Carolina)
  • Treasurer - David Bell (Oklahoma)
  • Secretary - Anne Maleady (Colorado)

Board Members

     *Terms expire at the annual meeting of the year listed

  • At-Large Directors
    • William Irving (North Carolina - 2019)
    • Lili Colby (Massachusetts - 2019) 
    • Robin Pope (North Carolina - 2018)
    • Kirk Havens (Virginia - 2018)
  • Independent Directors
    • Jeff Rouse (Virginia - 2019
    • David Bell (Oklahoma - 2019)
    • Peter Sloan (North Carolina - 2018)
  • Affiliated Organizations Director
    • vacant
  • Property Management Committee
    • Bill Micks (Virginia - 2018)
  • Safety Education & Instruction Council 
    • Steve Hutton (South Carolina - 2019)
  • Competition Council
    • to be elected in April
  • Elite Athlete Directors
    • Slalom - Scott Mann (Virginia - 2019)
    • Sprint - Stanton Collins (Georgia - 2019)
    • Paracanoe - Kelly Allen (Oklahoma - 2019)
  • Immediate Past President
    • Anne Maleady (Colorado)
  • Liaison Members (non-voting)
    • Tom Uebel - Sugar Island (New York)
  • Ex-Officio (non-voting)
    • Wade Blackwood - ACA Executive Director (Virginia)

Board Meeting Minutes:

  • 2018
    • March 3-4, 2018 (PDF - draft)
    • February 7, 2018 (PDF)
    • January 4, 2018 (PDF)
  • 2017 (PDF)
  • 2016 (PDF)

ACA IRS Form 990:

  • FY2012-13 (PDF)
  • FY2013-14 (PDF)
  • FY2014-15 (PDF)
  • FY2015-16 (PDF)
  • FY2016-17 (in progress)


  • 2012-2013 (PDF)
  • 2013-2014 (PDF)
  • 2014-2015 (PDF)
  • 2015-2016 (in progress)
  • 2016-2017 (in progress)


Additional information:


*If you are interested in learning more about being nominated for the ACA Board of Directors, please contact the ACA Executive Director.

ACA Mission

Founded in 1880, The American Canoe Association (ACA) is a national nonprofit organization serving the broader paddling public by providing education related to all aspects of paddling; stewardship support to help protect paddling environments; and sanctioning of programs and events to promote paddlesport competition, exploration and recreation.

ACA on Facebook Follow the ACA on Twitter ACA on YouTube ACA Daily Water Blog
Follow us on Pinterest Connect on LinkedIn


Contact Us
ACA | Canoe-Kayak-SUP-Raft-Rescue
503 Sophia St. Suite 100
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone: 540-907-4460
Contact Staff
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal